

## 102<sup>nd</sup> Alabama Men's State Amateur Championship

June 7-10, 2018

Pine Tree Country Club, Birmingham, AL

Entries Open: March 5

**Entries Close: April 30** 



Entry Fee: \$270 Exempt (\$110 Qualifying) (Includes Qualifying/Championship Cart/Range Fees)

## **EXEMPTIONS FROM SECTIONAL QUALIFYING**

Players in the following categories will be eligible for exemption in the 2018 Championship only. The AGA reserves the right to revise any of the exemption categories. Exempt players who wish to participate in the Championship must file an entry by April 30, 2018 except those players for whom blank entries are filed as noted below. Exempt players must meet all the eligibility requirements set forth in Eligibility Section.

**1.** All former winners of the AGA State Amateur Championship (Last 30 years listed):

2017-Taylor Eyster		1993-Bob Frazer					
2012-Andy McRae		1996-John Coles, III					
2006-Ben Moody		1991 Winston Walker					
2002, 2005-Will Swift		1990-Robbie Cotten					
1997-Richard Jeffers		1989-John Wright					
2. Winners of the AGA State	e Match Play Cham	pionship last ten years:					
2017-Matt Gourgeot		2014-Tyler Hitchner					
2015-Patrick Martin		2011-Mclain Leberte					
3. Winners of the AGA State	e Mid-Amateur last	five years:					
2017-Stewart Whitt		2014-Vic Kyatt III					
2016-Clay Guerin		2013-Torrie Coghlin					
2015-Jeff Taylor		-					
4. Winner of the 2017 AGA	Boys State Junior C	hampionship					
Padraic Sim							
5. Winners of the AGA State	e Senior Champions	ship last five years:					
2018-		2015-David Hancock					
2017-Robert Nelson		2014-Steve Hudson					
2016-Bryan Askew							
(NOTE: Blank entry will be	e filed by the AGA f	or player who becomes exempt	after close of entrie	s.)			
6. Winners of the AGA State	-						
2018- TBD		2015-Matt Gourgeot/Tony Olive					
2017-Heath West/Matt Johnson		2014-Ty Thompson					
2016-Steve Hudson/Ro							
(NOTE: Blank entry will b	e filed by the AGA	for player who becomes exemp	t after close of entrie	es.)			
7. Winners of the 2017 AGA							
Robert Nelson	Walker Grant						
8. From the 2018 AHSAA St	ate High School Cha	ampionship, each individual clas	sification champion	or co-champion.			
(* Classifications are: Boy	s 1A-2A, 3A, 4A, 5A	, 6A, 7A.)					
(NOTE: Blank entry will be	e filed by the AGA f	or player who becomes exempt	after close of entrie	s.)			
9. From the 2018 AISA State	e High School Cham	pion, individual champion or co	-champion.				
10. From the 2017 AGA State	Amateur Champic	onship, the 30 lowest scores and	anyone tying for 30	<sup>th</sup> place:			
Taylor Eyster	Wes Carter	Clay Guerin	John Hayden	Wesley Hunter			
Ryan Mayberry	Drew Mathers	Robby Prater	Vic Kyatt III	Sheldon Statkewicz			
Steven Setterstrom Jr.	Scott Bryan	John Racciatti Jr	Daniel Jansen	Matt Lorenz			
Heath West	Nicholas Dunlap	William Walker III	Brooks Rabren	John Catanzaro			
Tyler Hitchner	Ford Clegg	Jason Tate	Major Lee	Ben Fuller			
Austin Gean	James Medley	Austin Coggin	Dustin Sanders				
11. From the 2017 AGA State	Match Play Cham	pionship, those players who adv	anced to the Round	of 16:			
Jeff Taylor	Vic Kyatt III	Jason Smith	Robby Prater	Clay Guerin			
Connor Reid	Bo Hayes	Corey Ray	Taylor Eyster	Matt Gourgeot			
John Hayden	Jason Tate	Calum Masters	Scott Cornette	Robbie Cotton			
Wesley Hunter							
		10 lowest scores and anyone ty					
Stewart Whitt	Matt Gourgeot	Woodie Eubanks	Robson Copenhaver				
Clay Guerin	Matt Johnson	Jake Nolen	Vic Kyatt III				

	Ryan Campbell Steve Hudson								
13. Finalists from the 2018 AGA State Four-Ball Championship.									
(NOTE: Blank entry will be filed by the AGA for player who becomes exempt after close of entries.)									
14. From the 2017 Alabama Open, amateurs finishing among the top 30 overall:									
Tyler Hitchner	Brandon Lacasse			Robby Prater					
Wesley Hunter			ke DeZoort						
15. Any player who qualified for either the 2017 USGA Open Sectional Qualifying or 2017 USGA Senior Open Championship:									
	Jason DeJiacomo Claud Cooper								
16. Any player who qualified for the 2017 USGA Amateur, Mid-Amateur, Senior or Junior Championships:									
Lee Hodges	Patrick Martin	Wesley	Hunter	Alex Green					
Steven Setterstrom Jr	. John Catanzaro	Claud C	Cooper	Bart Barnes					
Clay Guerin	Matt Johnson	Thomas	s Ponder						
17. Any player who qualified for the 2018 USGA Amateur Four-Ball Championship:									
Steven Groover Harlan Winn									
18. The 2017 Alabama Men'	s Player of the Yea	ar:							
Matt Gourgeot									
19. The 2017 Alabama Senior Men's Player of the Year:									
Steve Hudson									
<b>20.</b> The 2017 Alabama Junior Boys Player of the Year:									
Ethan Hagood									
<b>21.</b> Any player who ranks within the top 25 point leaders and anyone tying for 25 <sup>th</sup> place of the Alabama Men's Amateur Rankings as of									
March 5, 2018:									
Matt Gourgeot	Taylor Eyster	Vic Kyatt III	Clay Guerin	Lee Hodges	Matt Johnson	Brooks Rabren			
Wesley Hunter	Patrick Martin	Robby Prater	Woodie Eubanks	Ryan Mayberry	John Hayden	Stewart Whitt			
Steven Setterstrom	Connor Reid	Heath West	Scott Bryan	Daniel Jansen	John Catanzaro				
Robson Copenhaver	Scott Cornette	Drew Mathers	Mac Murphy	Sheldon Statkew	vicz				
22. Any player who ranks within the top 5 point leaders and anyone tying for 5 <sup>th</sup> place of the Alabama Junior Boys Rankings as of									
March 5, 2018:									
Austin Coggin	Ethan Hagood	Ford Clegg	J.P. Cave	Padraic Sim					
23. One exemption for Championship Host Club.									
<b>24.</b> Special exemptions bestowed by the AGA.									

25. Medical Exemption (Exemption into 2017 Alabama State Amateur not used due to injury.) John Snoddy