Southern Golf Association

Nashville, Tenn. - Slender Hubert Green, of Birmingham, Ala., won his second Southern Golf Association championship by out-firing a fine field in the 63rd annual tournament at the Belle Meade Country Club in Nashville in July, 1969.

Green shot an eight-under-par 280 total for the 72 holes to whip Bob Barbarossa. of Ft. Lauderdale, Fla., by five shots. Green was under par in every round going 71-69-69-71.

His play on the back nine was the difference as he finished that side 13 under par. In playing the two back side par three holes he had seven birdies and one par for an amazing seven under for the eight attempts.

Steve Melnyk, the Western champion, finished third at 286 followed by defending champion Lanny Wadkins, of Richmond, Va., at 287.

Green went into the final round with a five shot lead and held it nearly all the way on the last 18.

In a playoff during the third round Melnyk's 75 whipped Bob Lowry, Jr., Huntsville, Ala., for the medalist award. The two had tied at 139 over the 36 hole route for the medal.

Melnyk, of Brunswick, Ga., led Georgia to the team title at seven under par for the 36 holes. Joining Melnyk (139), was Jim Gabrielson, Atlanta, at two under, Atlanta's Charlie Harrison one under and James Key, Columbus, one over.

Green had previously won the Southern in 1966 over his home course at the Birmingham Country Club.

The tournament drew 220 of the top amateurs in the 14 states composing the SGA with the entry maximum being reached a full month before the tournament start.

Green had been right behind the leaders through the first 36 holes at Belle Meade, then pulled away with his third round 69. In the final round Hubert wrapped it up when he put together three straight birdies at Nos. 14, 15 and 16 to beat down the final challenge of the other contenders.

Ed Brantly, of Signal Mcuntain, Tenn. won a playoff with John Mahaffey, of Kerrville, Texas, for the first division after both had totaled 299. Lew Conner, of Nashville, won the second division with a 305 total for the 72 holes over the testing Belle Meade layout.

Final Results
Hubert Green Birmingham, Ala 280
Robert Barbarossa Ft. Lauderdale, Fla 285
Steve Melnyk Brunswick, Ga 286
Lanny Wadkins Richmond, Va 287
Robert Bryant Charlotte, N. C. 291
Bob Lowry, Jr Huntsville, Ala 293
Jeff Thompson Greenville, S. C 293
Joe Inman, Jr Greensboro, N. C 293
James Gabrielson Atlanta, Ga 294
Charles Harrison Atlanta, Ga 294
Jimmy Wittenberg, Jr. Memphis, Tenn 295
Downing Gray Pensacola, Fla 295
Eddie Pearce Temple Terrace, Fla 296
John Carey Minor III Roanoke, Va 296
Dennis Walters Denton, Texas 296
John Rees Nashville, Tenn 297
Bob Wilson Memphis, Tenn 297
Dale Morey High Point, N. C 297
James Key Columbus, Ga 297
Dennis Iden Plantation, Fla 297
Marty Graham, Jr Nashville, Tenn 297
Mickey Van Gerbig Palm Beach, Fla 298
Leonard Thompson Winston-Salem, N. C 298
Michael Estridge Mulberry, Fla 298
Bobby Wadkins Richmond, Va 300
Charles Major Birmingham, Ala 300
Elliott Kirven Columbus, Ga 300
Alec Grant Jasper, Ala 301
George Cadle Middlesboro, Ky 301
Billy Joe Patton Morganton, N. C 301
Larry White Chattanooga, Tenn 301
Frank Powers Raleigh, N. C 301
Marvin Nischan Nashville, Tenn 302
Bill Harvey Greensboro, N.C 302
Richard Leckey St. Petersburg, Fla 303
Kip Minter Orlando, Fla 304
Bo Trotter Columbus, Ga 305
Mike Taylor Meridian, Miss 305
Jack Roundtree Lake City, Fla 305
Clay Holloway Murfreesboro, Tenn 306
Layne Wallock Montgomery, Ala 312
James Fitzgibbon Coral Gables, Fla 315
Ed Brantly Signal Mountain, Tenn 299
John Mahaffey Kerrville, Texas 299
(Brantly won first in playoff)
Corker DeLoach McMinnville, Tenn 302
Paul Hutchins Jacksonville, Fla 303
David Boyd Atlanta, Ga 303
Lew Conner Nashville, Tenn 305
Frank Campbell Huntsville, Ala 307
Richard Waters Atlanta, Ga 308
Jimmy Wittenberg, Sr Memphis, Tenn 310
Bill Lovett Toccoa, Ga 310
Wes Gilliland Chattanooga, Tenn 310