Golf Association

Serving & Promoting Amateur Golf in Alabama Since 1915

(205) 979-1234

Alabama Golf Association Names 2021 Board of Directors and Honors Sadie Roberts Award Recipient

The 2021 Alabama Golf Association President, Steve Hudson

HOOVER, AL (March 1, 2021) – On Thursday, February 25, 2021, the Alabama Golf Association’s Annual Membership Meeting and Board of Directors meeting was conducted virtually.

Annual Board of Directors Meeting

At the Alabama Golf Association’s Annual Membership meeting, Steve Hudson of Birmingham was elected to serve the first of two one-year terms as President. Hudson is a former Alabama men’s golf standout and one of eight members of the Alabama Sports Hall of Fame Class of 2021. He has been recognized as the AGA’s Player of the Year on three different occasions and was twice named the AGA Senior Player of the Year.

“I’m very honored to be trusted to serve in this particular role,” Hudson said. “This really is a big dream, come true. My vision is to continue to support the momentum that the AGA has had for the last number of years with Andy and his team. I know that it has been a goal for the AGA to do more for junior golf, so any way I can leverage my position to impact Youth on Course Alabama is an honor.”

Other elected officers for 2021 include: Walker Grant of Montgomery (Vice-President), Joey Dzwonkowski of Mobile (Secretary), and Derrel Curry of Birmingham (Treasurer).

Carol Lell of Birmingham, who served as the AGA’s first female President, concluded her elected term. Lell’s impact on golf in Alabama is far-reaching as she navigated the organization through a global pandemic and was a leader in the merger of the Women’s Alabama Golf Association with the Alabama Golf Association in 2010.

Re-elected Alabama Golf Association Board of Directors members are: Alan Allgood of Fairhope; Jan Berry of Madison; Flip Bradley of Huntsville; Forrest Crabtree of Mobile; Derrel Curry of Birmingham; Austin Davis of Birmingham; Patrick Drummond of Birmingham; Joey Dzwonkowski of Mobile; Freeman Fite of Anniston; Nancy Gavin of Jacksons Gap; John Goldasich of Birmingham; Walker Grant of Montgomery; Kathy Hartwiger of Birmingham; Brinson Holder of Point Clear; Joey Holley of Troy; Hoyt Howell, Jr. of Anniston; Steven Hudson of Birmingham; Travis Hudson II of Jasper; Sharon Kellum of Leeds; Lucie King of Tuscaloosa; Larry Kniseley of Daphne; Carol Lell of Birmingham; William Lewis of Tuscaloosa; Marvin Lynn Lowe of Gadsden; Chris Marr of Mobile; William McGowin of Montgomery; John Miller IV of Birmingham; Will Pierce of Selma; Grantland Rice III of Birmingham; Will Swift of Birmingham; Jim Teel of Auburn; Sam Vann of Dothan; Phillip Weaver of Tuscaloosa; Cody Wesley of Greenville; and Susan West of Tuscaloosa.

Three board members were elected to serve a one-year term on the AGA Executive Committee along with the four officers: Immediate Past President Carol Lell of Birmingham, Will Swift of Vestavia Hills, and Susan West of Tuscaloosa. Retiring from the Executive Committee is Grantland Rice III of Birmingham.

Annual Awards

The Alabama Golf Association honored Jan Berry of Madison with the Sadie Roberts Volunteer of the Year Award. Berry has supported the AGA, NCAA and USGA at countless tournaments, worked thousands of hours while traveling untold miles throughout the state and nationally to serve as a rules official and board member all at her own expense.

“Volunteering with the AGA, USGA and NCAA has been a labor of love and something I really enjoy,” Berry said. “I found a way to give back to the community through the game of golf, and it’s great to work with such wonderful people.”

About the Alabama Golf Association (AGA)

The Alabama Golf Association is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit educational organization founded in 1915 whose mission is to serve and promote amateur golf in Alabama. AGA membership consists of over 115 member clubs represented by nearly 20,000 individuals. The activities and services of the Alabama Golf Association are governed by a Board of Directors consisting of Alabama golfers who wish to serve the game and the association through service.
AGA is the USGA's liaison for golf in Alabama conducting national championship qualifying, administering the USGA Handicap system including the GHIN Handicap service, course & slope rating and education. The AGA annually conducts 23 championships and team match competitions for men, women, juniors, and seniors. The AGA also conducts Alabama high school golf championships and assists with many collegiate events including the SEC Men's Golf Championship. In addition to competitions, the AGA administers the AGA Women's Scholarship Fund that is dedicated to assisting young female golfers in higher education and supports the Alabama Turfgrass Research Foundation.

Since 1980, the AGA has managed the affairs of the Southern Golf Association which includes conducting the Southern Amateur Championship and Southern Junior Championship, in conjunction with the Board of Directors of the Southern Golf Association.

For more information about the Alabama Golf Association, visit

Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  YouTube


Media Contact:
Audrey Ferguson
AGA Communications